The Centre is one of the most vibrant groups of historians devoted to  the study of science, technology and medicine in the world, covering a long chronological range, and concerned with global as well as national histories. It is notable for being fully integrated into a history department both organisationally and intellectually.


Our aim is to research and teach the histories of science, technology and medicine in ways that change understandings of their history, of history in general, and of the world in which we live today. Our work has engaged directly with policy-makers and politicians, and just as importantly has affected national and international conversations about science, technology and medicine.

For the history of the Centre, please click here

CHoSTM Photos (16).JPG


David Brydan
David Edgerton
Caitjan Gainty

Lecturer in the History of Modern International Relations

Hans Rausing Professor of the History of Science and Technology and Professor of Modern British History

Lecturer in the History of Science, Technology and Medicine

Philippa Hellawell

Early Career Development Fellow in the History of Early Modern Medicine

Anna Maerker

Reader in History of Medicine

Chris Manias

Senior Lecturer in the History of Science & Technology

Hannah Murphy

UKRI Future Leaders Fellow & Lecturer in Early Modern History

Kathleen Walker-Meikle

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Renaissance Skin)


CHoSTM Photos (3).JPG
Dr Lisbet Rausing
CHoSTM Photos (3).JPG
Ralph Desmarais
CHoSTM Photos (3).JPG
Michael Kershaw

Senior Research Fellow

Visiting Researcher

Visiting Researcher



Katherine Ambler
Catriona Byers
Helen Esfandiary
Erica Fischer
Scott Hunter
Liam Fitzgerald
Sandip Kana
Catherine Harrison
Shankar Nair
Alison Skipper
Edisson Aguilar Torres
Francisca Villaseca
Viswanathan Venkataraman


Yohann Guffroy

Visiting Research Fellow

Lisa Svanfeldt-Winter
Anton Howes

Visiting Research Fellow

Visiting Research Fellow


Angelica Agredo-Montealegre
Ronwen Chamarette
Elle Larsson
Felicity McWilliams
Thomas Kelsey
Edward Young
Katya Morgunova

CHoSTM Alumni

Since 1993 at least 30 PhD students have graduated from the Centre, about half of whom have academic jobs. Some of these are listed below. Other students have progressed to careers in research, in museums, in consultancy. We offer ongoing support to our students even after their graduation by writing references, reading drafts of written work, and helping them to win research funds and perform well at interviews. 

CHOSTM graduates in permanent academic positions include:

  • Sabine Clarke, Senior Lecturer in Modern History, York

  • Rosemary Cresswell, Senior Lecturer in Global History, Hull

  • Larry Ferreiro, professor of systems engineering and science and technology management at the Defense Acquisition University at Fort Belvoir VA

  • Miguel Garcia-Sancho, Chancellors Fellow, Science Technology and Innovation, University of Edinburgh

  • Hermione Giffard, Managing Editor of Technology and Culture, Eindhoven University

  • Rebekah Higgitt, Lecturer in History of Science, Kent

  • Shang-Jen Li, Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Department of Social Medicine, National Taiwan University

  • Yogesh Mishra, Assistant Professor, Nepal Engineering College

  • Aparajith Ramnath, Assistant Professor Humanities and Liberal Arts at Ahmedabad University

  • Jessica Reinisch, Professor of Modern History, Birkbeck

  • Waqar Zaidi, Associate Professor History, LUMS, Lahore

Our students have been very successful.  In 2014 alone, Hermione Giffard won the annual George Mosse Prize of the Journal of Contemporary History for her first article; Julie Hipperson won the Roy Porter Prize of the Society for the Social History of Medicine; Ben Taylor won the Royal Historical Society Centenary Fellowship and Esther Harper was awarded the Richard Cox Postgraduate Prize by the British Society for Sporting History. In 2016, Hermione Giffard won the BAC Wadsworth Prize in Business History while, in 2017, Tom Kelsey won the Society for the History of Technology Robinson Prize

More recently, in 2018 Angelica Agredo Montealegre was awarded the Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship which is awarded annually by the Society for the History of Technology and in 2019, Helen Esfandiary was the recipient of the IHR Pollard Prize for her paper ‘We could not answer to ourselves not doing it’: Maternal Obligations and Knowledge of Smallpox Inoculation in Eighteenth-Century Elite Society.’